On the road again

Peace Corps Packing:

As far as my wardrobe is concerned, I am set. I will need some more socks, undies and probably some silk long-handles 🙂 I found a luggage scale at Academy for $8 and snatched it right up. I am considering a lighter sleeping bag but am struggling with the temperature rating. Should I go 35 or 40? 35 is 3lbs and 40 is 1.6lbs. Who knew 5 degrees would make such a difference? I am not sure I need to worry about something that I would have to have shipped to me anyway. Hmmm. I need 2 more pair of gloves: one fleece and one waterproof. My shoes are good but I want to get a pair of sport sandals for the summer. Thank you Peace Corps discounts! Oh! and I have decided on the messenger bag. I like the ones at Timbuk2 for their fit (I think I have already talked about this) but for some reason I am hesitant.

Other Stuff:

So my brain is much happier. I guess I had a little angst melt down and felt the need to share. I think this is the essence of drama. I have another good analogy about change: it is like the split second it takes to shift a car into the next gear. For that tiny moment you are out of gear and just coasting on kinetic energy. sometimes that tiny moment can be uncomfortable. Ok enough of that.

12.5 days left of work. We are planning an in-library party. It has become tradition to get an elaborate meal for birthdays and graduations. The meal consists of an appetizer, an entrée and a dessert. Drinks seem to take care of themselves. Pizza is the overwhelming favorite for the entrée but the appetizer ranges from nachos to wings to spring roles. The dessert is usually frozen custard but this year I am pulling for Passionberri. It should be fun.

Thanks for reading!


About this entry